1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

HELP! I've just been made PE coordinator and have no idea what to do!!

Discussion in 'Physical education' started by vicky_home, Jan 3, 2012.

1. Hi

I'm new to teaching and have just been made PE coordinator. I have no idea what to do for it and have never even seen an action plan before. Can anybody help me

Thanks

2. gogojonny

gogojonny New commenter

All too common these days, especially in female dominated schools, the more experienced teachers shotgun the literacy and leave PE to the new teachers. Why? Because the experienced teachers don't have a clue about PE.

You need a scheme of work, go LCP. Kick and scream for the money, if they are going to put you in a role with no experience then they need to stump the cash. Check out courses with your LEA, again your school should show the money. if your school is signed up to a sports partnership get help from them also, I hate the partnerships but if your school has paid to be part of get your money's worth.

3. If I was offered or made Head of any subject I wasn't qualified for, I think I would say so and refuse.
    Still, it's only PE isn't it? Can't be that difficult, eh?

4. funkygirl

funkygirl New commenter

Contact some of your main secondary feeder schools who should have a teacher release to support with transition. Do you know who your local School Games Organizer (SGO) is? Under the old School Sports Partnership there should be a =n SGO in yor area who is involved in the run up to the school games for your city wide area.