1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Help; is this really possible?

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by 911turbo, Apr 4, 2012.

1. I hope someone will kindly read and answer this as I am feeling rather stressed!
    I have been very fortunate to get a job in a college teaching A' level (my pgce is post 16) but I am classed as a supply teacher so only temporary but to basically help them out of a hole as they couldn't find anyone else at such short notice. There is a chance I can be properly employed as a full time teacher in September (if I pass the trial period I suppose!).
    I only teach two days a week but the problem is this...
    I got my degree in 1997 (so a while ago!) and my pgce in the last couple of years. All I have really done is teach privately with the job market being so bad.
    As you are aware, A' level students are basically at revision time now, building up to their exams in the 'summer'. In other words, I have to know the syllabus pretty well for both AS and A2 and I have no idea how they have been taught; any of the groups that I need to teach.
    The sixth form year head is aware of my limited experience but I am just beginning to freak out slightly! I have the syllabus and even though I know my subject, I do know what they need to know but I don't know it if that makes sense! In fact, I'm quite sure that if I sat the very same A' level either AS or A2 I would fail!