1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Help! In need of EAL support.

Discussion in 'Primary' started by KFig, Aug 10, 2016.

1. KFig

KFig New commenter

Hello all!
    I am a year one teacher and in September I will have two pupils with very little/no English language. One of the children only moves over here on the 27th of August!
    I was thinking of setting up language group, using role play and games to help develop core vocabulary.
    In honestly I have no idea how best support them (generally and in lessons) and would really appreciate any tips/ideas/advice anyone has.
    Thank you in advance :)

2. hhhh

hhhh Lead commenter

Surely the school has plans in place? I can't imagine that a Year 1 teacher will be left to teach the 2 of them alone-presumably you will have a lot of 5 year olds to teach?
    Sometimes the parents coming in can be very useful.

3. vannie

vannie Star commenter

Relax ... children pick up English very quickly. In the early days it would be a good idea to have picture signs for the basics such as 'toilet', 'upset', 'drink' etc - You can find these easily by googling. Lots of picture / word labels and cards will also help - you can do these as you go along but I would get the basics done now whilst it's quiet. A communication group for speaking - initially English nouns then moving on to short phrases etc - I use the Tower Hamlets Language Structures as a starting point and move on from there. The other children in your class will be keen to help out and will enjoy the responsibility of introducing their new friend to the classroom.
    Any dual language texts or even eg English / Spanish dictionaries will be appreciated.