1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Help! I'm sinking...

Discussion in 'Heads of department' started by MrMusic, Mar 7, 2011.

1. MrMusic

MrMusic New commenter

<font size="3">This is my first year as a HoD and I'm in a new school. I've not been in the teaching game long and I knew that the move from teacher to HoD would be a big one but I'm getting to the point where I feel guilty all the time if I'm not working. My lessons are suffering because I feel I'm constantly chained to my computer writing intervention strategies, development plans and budget requests. When I&rsquo;m not working on them its reports and behaviour issues. </font><font size="3">I don't feel that I'm pushing the curriculum in any direction but rather panicking into different projects. </font><font size="3">If any HoDs out there have any golden words of advice I would greatly appreciate them...</font><font size="3">I'm off to start my tutor group reports.... </font>

2. OK - firstly it does get better! Once youhave written things once not only will it be easier in the future but you will also have the benefit of being able to amend/ improve rather than make from scratch. Do not underestimate how much time this will save you.

Secondly, do not try to run before you can walk. Understand for yourself what is a reasonable standard/ priority. By this I mean in your first year you CANNOT do everything to the standard that you would wish it to be. Something has to give. You need to decide what that is and allow yourself not to be perfect.