1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

help, i'm a bad manager!

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by blizzardboy, Mar 23, 2017.

1. blizzardboy

blizzardboy New commenter

hi,

ok, took over as a new Hod in a new school in Sept. I was told when i arrived that there was a number of issues in the department, i've introduced a few new things(like dept marksheets) and some ignored it completely until i had some serious conversations.

since then things have been up and down. I think the main issue is that i've never really been the best "people person". I can work harder than anyone else in the world, but it's getting people on side that i struggle with.

I've managed to make "friends" with one member of staff who I work together with, but the rest feel fragmented. I introduced cakey-Friday and brought us together, but that has fallen apart due to busy schedules, i need to try and figure out a day when nearly everyone is free (there is no day when everyone is free). When we had ofsted and after they had gone i bought the dept a box of chocs to say thanks for hard work and a bottle of wine at xmas. I've got easter eggs for next week.