1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Help - ideas needed for introducing enterprise to year 9

Discussion in 'Business studies' started by Twinklefoottoe, Sep 13, 2015.

1. Twinklefoottoe

Twinklefoottoe Senior commenter

I have to introduce a mixed ability year 9 group to enterprise in year 9 as part of PHSE. I'm an ICT teacher, not Business Studies in a classroom with no computers but it does have a projector.

Lesson 1: did a 5 minute 'guess the logo' competition. Then looked at superjam video and students had to pick out facts from the video. Then we talked about the definition of enterprise and entrepreneur and then we brainstormed and looked at some short clips from the BBC about the qualities entrepreneurs have.

Lesson 2: Mmmm. Not sure what to do. Trying to keep it interesting, maybe practical, get them interested in business.

Would anyone like to suggest some ideas / resources / fun tasks for the next few lessons, please? There's only 4 or 5 lessons in total.

2. revisionstation

revisionstation New commenter

Hi

Try these ideas:

Buy lots of terrible products from Poundland and wrap them up. Organise into teams and they have to pitch them at the front Dragon's Dens Style. This teaches them the characteristics of entrepreneurs - that they must have creativity and self confidence. Show the Levis roots Den clip to inspire them and a prize for best group. Great items are back scratchers, lumbar supports, click watches, solar frog lights the choices are endless. What would they charge how would they market the product, who would buy it.Total cost to you of £10.