1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Help - I have to teach Media Studies

Discussion in 'Media studies' started by lizgaskell, May 12, 2011.

1. lizgaskell

lizgaskell Occasional commenter

Welcome!
    Firstly, i know you are worried now but, believe me, you will really enjoy it! I was an Engliah teacher, I thought, but first post, 5 years or so ago, gave me a Media Studies class. I was so nervous and I spent the whole summe planning but actually, now i feel privileged.
    First things first;
    • which board are you teaching ?(wjec, aqa or betc for example)
    • GCSE or A level
    I would, if I were you, join Mediaedu (expensive- I reconsider every year but still do it (my own money too) - maybe yoor HOD would pay for it? Masses of resource on here. Even teachit can help- I think.
    Honestly, you're already probably pretty good at reading texts; these are just differnet texts.
    Liz[​IMG]

2. Thanks for the useful advice and words of encouragement.
    The board is WJEC and I will be teaching both GCSE and A-level.
    I think the fact that I used to be a journalist has made them think I am the perfect choice for this subject but from what I can see this is just a small part of the subject. This is my first post and I want to make sure I don't let the students down.

3. lizgaskell

lizgaskell Occasional commenter

Well, I teach aqa Media but WJEC for English and Film Studies and they couldn't be more helpful.

Look first at their website- loads of stuff there.

Liz

4. Thanks Liz - you have been very helpful.

5. WJEC have an INSET for teachers/Centres new to the spec. In London. In June. Try might help!

6. magic surf bus

magic surf bus Star commenter