1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Help! I hate teaching.

Discussion in 'Personal' started by Franky86, Apr 20, 2016.

1. Franky86

Franky86 New commenter

I am at the lowest of the low. I canot see a future in my job and I just don't enjoy it. I need some advice and help. I am teaching for 4 years. I am facing into my 5th summer of filling out job applications and praying I get some maternity contracts or a fixed term contract. I am an art teacher in Ireland. This lack of security has led to me feeling stagnent. I haven't moved on in life. I am waiting for it to happen. I am 30 and I have no idea if I'll have an income in September. I can't get mortgage and I am engaged but unable to contemplate saving for a wedding. I am still in my student apartment with no hope of moving. I want a permanent job. I want any other job. I'm sorry to say this but I am done with teaching. What are my career options ? I am an art teacher and I am fed up of painting murals on the walls of every school that I have subbed in in an attempt to be kept. I am sick of making signs for open nights and providing artwork for school muesuem, functions and everything else. I am sick of the donkey work that is expected from someone like me, someone in job limbo. Is there any advice on any areas that a secondary level art teacher could transfer into. I'd love a 9-5 office job. I'm willing to do anything for a reliable income. Sorry for the rant but I am so upset I decided to pursue my dream of going to art college and then training to teach. I am unemployable

2. sabrinakat

sabrinakat Star commenter

I'd post this on Career Clinic as @TheoGriff, @Middlemarch, @CWadd might be able to advise, but....