1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Help! Handed in Notice - No Acknowledgement!!

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by ocsanonymous, May 25, 2017.

1. ocsanonymous

ocsanonymous New commenter

I have handed in my notice last week (approx 2 weeks before the cut off date) as i am moving to a school nearby where i live. I am an NQT and this is my first time dealing with resignation in a school. I emailed the notice to my headteacher and another member of the SLT. I then went and let that member of SLT know that i emailed my notice in and copied them in too. My HOD was present when i emailed the notice. However i am yet to still receive an email of acknowledgement from the head. I am aware that the SLT and my HOD have already started looking for candidates for the job. My question is should i be concerned that i have not received a reply of acknowledgement from the head? I have seen the head around and we have said our usual hello's and hi's since I've emailed him but he has not said anything about it. Should i be concerned? I have accepted my other job offer already.

2. grumpydogwoman

grumpydogwoman Star commenter

No need to be concerned. But do one thing. Print out your resignation as a formal letter and hand hard copy to the HT and HoD.

You haven't missed the date. It's fine. Maybe some schools are totally transitioned to the 21st century but hard copy is recommended in these cases.

3. Jessaki

Jessaki Occasional commenter

Yes, hand in a hard copy. Always hand in hard copy. Your HT should either sign the resignation letter and send you a photocopy or send you a note acknowledging your resignation.

4. Piranha

Piranha Star commenter