1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Help from a Physics teacher required?

Discussion in 'Science' started by ELLIS1980, Jan 1, 2012.

1. Hello, I am a trainee teacher currently doing an SKE via Brighton Uni. I have a project involving a hand held catapult. Am i correct in thinking i cannot calculate the range a projectile can be fired without having either time or initial velocity? I have Mass, acceleration and force already and have found a similar project involving a spud gun from which i can get muzzle velocity but not initial? Any help would be much appreciated.
    My initial project outline was that i would calciulate the range of five different projectiles? but without initial velocity and time cant find a way of calculating the range. My next thought is to run the experiment to give range then use this to work backwards to get IV and T?
    Any idea's much appreciated. Oh ive already asked in the maths forum and had some very kind pointers but require the help of a Physics expert as it is a cross curricular project, so if your happy for me to quote your advice that would be very kind.
    Kind Regards

Dan

2. Happy New Year to you.
    In Physics there are often a number of ways of approaching a problem (hopefully they all give the same result, but I remember one exam question where they didn't - that's another story).