1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Help!! Calling any reception teacher to help a struggling nursery practitioner

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by thumbshrew, Nov 2, 2011.

1. Use the EYFS guidance. Children are taught through EYFS until the end of reception. Get hold of the foundation stage profile, as she will need to be assessed using this at the end of the reception year. By that time she should have been allocated a place. The LA should provide school places for all children aged 5 so she should have a place by the time she reaches her 5th birthday. Can' t help wondering- is the full stop key not working on your keyboard?

2. I'm a reception teacher and we use the EYFS guidance (level 40 - 60 months) for all of our learning objectives so have a look at that, it gives some good ideas for activities as well. I tend to find that children can fall behind in their phonics (and therefore their writing and reading), so I would try to start her on "Letters and Sounds" Phase 2 as thats what we start in reception in september, by Jan most of the children will be on phase 3, by april most on phase 4, etc.
    Hope that helps. Ask away if you would like anything more.

3. we use the summative assessment profile with the 1-3 level scale points at the end and send it off to schools in july but hers is still in the nursery and the scale points at the end have not been filled in due to her not going to school or are you talking about something completely different ??