1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

HELP ASAP PLEASE! Trailing Partner to Shanghai

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by megan62, Jan 23, 2017.

1. megan62

megan62 New commenter

I know there have been a lot of previous threads to discuss life as a trailing spouse, but I could really do with some quick advice so I am reaching out to the TES community in the hopes that somebody can help!

My partner has just accepted a contract with a school in Shanghai. They have offered him a great package and we are both excited to experience a new country, culture, (hopefully) better quality of life, and to spend more time together. He is a primary teacher and I am an English Literature graduate, with experience as a teaching assistant and a TEFL qualification. I don't have a job as of yet and I'm just wondering what other people have done and what my best option would be.

Would I be best off going out on a tourist visa and trying to arrange a local contract in Shanghai, be it with a language school or as a TA? Or would it be a good idea to find a TEFL job and arrange my own benefits package? Ultimately we are aiming to live together, as we do now, and to explore China at weekends. Have others had trouble finding TEFL jobs that allow you to keep weekends free?

Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated! It's all a bit new to us as it's our first overseas experience, so it would be great to hear from people who have done it before.

Thanks!

2. the hippo

the hippo Lead commenter Community helper