1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Help! Any ideas for helping students through post 16 Chemistry?!

Discussion in 'Science' started by dazed1, Feb 8, 2012.

1. I could really do with some help here. I am a relatively new teacher (2 yrs out of NQT), teaching Science in Spain, to Spanish pupils in English using the Spanish cirriculum. Confused yet?!
    I´ve hit a real stumbling block. I teach the equivalent of AS-level Chemistry to 18 pupils with varying levels of English. We have only one lesson a week (?!) and it is 1 hr 40 mins long. The lesson cannot be altered although I have tried. This class is failing. I have no idea what to do to with them and as this is a very new school there is no-one with experience for me to turn to. However on here......... [​IMG]
    The main issues I think I am coming across right now are:
    • Confusing models ( ie not knowing when to pick the correct model for the question)
    • Not using correct full mark phrases and key vocabulary when answering questions
    • Not being able to relate to 3D structures.
    I don´t think these issues are only related to the pupils not being native English speakers and I was hoping that some of you have techniques or know of some resourcs to overcome this.
    Thanks

2. I could really do with some help here. I am a relatively new teacher (2 yrs out of NQT), teaching Science in Spain, to Spanish pupils in English using the Spanish cirriculum. Confused yet?!