1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Help and advice - feeling like I’m ****

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by travelwings, Feb 1, 2018.

1. travelwings

travelwings New commenter

Hi everyone,

Thanks in advance for any replies.

I’m having a crisis of confidence and feeling like I’m doing really badly in my NQT +1 compared to last year but I could very well be overreacting.

I had good feedback all last year and my drop ins from colleagues and SLT, when they’ve left feedback, has been good. However I’ve had two observations now that have left me feeling bad and that I’m a rubbish teacher.

My HoD observed me with a GCSE class for oral presentations and has now suggested I team teach with her. In the feedback she didn’t feel that I stretched the top set enough so I know this is why she suggested team teaching. I didn’t reveal it but I felt quite offended and now feel that the lesson was terrible and that I can’t teach.

Aside from inviting her to another lesson and going above and beyond in it and showing her what I do in every other lesson I’m not sure what to do.

It’s a competitive department and prigress wise I feel like I’m starting to be left behind.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

2. defenceagainstthedarkarts

defenceagainstthedarkarts Occasional commenter

Please don’t be upset by this. I know that’s easier said than done, but honestly we all have things we could all improve on.

If it makes you feel better, I got the same feedback for an unsuccessful interview a few months ago. I was exhausted and out of sorts and normally I am the one pulled in to demonstrate stretch and challenge for G and T!