1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Help Advice Needed

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by vortex566, Nov 14, 2015.

1. vortex566

vortex566 New commenter

Good Morning,

On Monday I took an overdose before school and collapsed in assembly. It was not a suicide attempt as I suffer with borderline personality disorder with a tendency to self-harm. I'm under a psychologist and taken medication to help me sleep and manage the symptoms. Monday was a slip on my part and now I'm worried I'm going to lose my job. I'm an outstanding teacher and have been teaching for three years and during the three years, I have had no time off work for anything other than a death in the family. As soon as I knew what I had, I let the head and HR know right away.

Work won't let me come back into work until I have seen occupational health. I'm now starting to think they are going to question my ability to teach even though I have been doing it for three years with no issue. My colleagues have told me not to worry that the school are looking after me, but I just have this paranoia that I will lose my job.

Any advice is welcomed.

jomaimai likes this.
  2. monicabilongame

monicabilongame Star commenter

Have you been in touch with your keyworker/CMHT/CPN? If not you need to let them know that this has happened. Also, did the school know before this that you have BPD?

The school is probably more concerned at the moment about the safety of the students and of yourself - BPD isn't widely understood anyway, and with aspects of s/h they will be more concerned.