1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Help! Advice / experiences needed - behaviour management

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by ann_rummerz, Nov 30, 2019.

1. ann_rummerz

ann_rummerz New commenter

Hi folks, I'm training on a SCITT course, which started in September this year. My subject's ICT. I've just completed my 4th week of block practice in secondary & am really struggling with behaviour management, particularly years 7 & 8 and feel really unsure as to what's actually expected of me at this stage.
    I know full well I'm not good at behaviour management yet - it's not something I've ever had to do before. but after this last week, I'm wondering how I learn it, along with everything else there is to learn and do. Some of the feedback I've been getting has been helpful, otherwise, it feels like nothing is going right, which is outstandingly depressing.
    How much are we actually expected to know / be able to apply after 4 weeks of actually planning and teaching lessons?!?

pepper5 likes this.
  2. marrowf

marrowf New commenter

Hi

I am in my first placement too - I've found my with my year 7 and 8 that being much firmer and clear in your expectations really helps, I think they forget what is expected of them a lot too. I had to learn the hard way with behaviour getting to the near riot stage. Next lesson i just stated exactly what I expected and then used the school sanctions at every available opportunity BUT also I gave them all a positive point when they all behaved. Make sure you have lots of work that they can actually access so they aren't bored or overwhelmed.