1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Hello.....my name is Belle and I am a...........................

Discussion in 'Personal' started by BelleDuJour, Sep 4, 2011.

1. BelleDuJour

BelleDuJour Star commenter

.................carboholic!
    Bet you weren't expecting that eh?!
    The thing is, I keep reading everywhere (and on these boards) about diets and it seems carbs are our bad boys! Well, I love them. Give me bread, pasta, rice, spuds......drool.....and life is worth living.
    Now, as a scientist I can understand from a purely physiological point of view how diets like Atkins (and Dukan for that matter) will help lose weight, but the body is programmed to store carbs and fat regardless. So, once the diet stops and normal eating resumes then wallop.....the weight goes back on.
    I'm also not sure I fancy halitosis and constipation as side effects of low carb/high protein regimes but hey ho, each to his/her own.
    However, it has also been proven that many people lose weight on these, and other extreme regimes, simply because the diet is so restictive aka boring, that they are in fact eating far fewer calories, hence the weight loss.
    Even the Hay diet is really just a way of making one aware of what is going in the mouth and that, together with it being boring, results in fewer calories consumed. There is nothing mystical about separating carbs and proteins, as the body is designed to digest both and is perfectly adapted to maintain perfectc onditions to digest both.