1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Hello... any advice appreciated!

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by lthughes, Oct 11, 2019.

1. lthughes

lthughes New commenter

Thanks for clicking in and taking the time to read my post...
    Background - I've taught in UAE and Thailand. Came home 4 years ago got married and had a baby! But we are now beginning to get itchy feet again and would love to go abroad. Ideally I'd live Europe, purely for the closeness of it to the UK (so family can visit).
    Our little one will be nursery age by the time we go. I am a teacher and my partner will be a travelling spouse. He is looking for some sort of NGO work.

So I guess my question(s) is what are your thoughts in locations? We will be able to rent our house out in the UK, we don't need to be able to save a huge amount but we would like to have a comfortable lifestyle. We have lived in cities and more rural destinations so are open to both. I am trying to do my own research into Europe, I do think UAE and Thailand has spoiled use previously tbh!!

Thanks if you've got this far and an even bigger thanks if you're able to offer any advice, it's all very much appreciated :):)

2. dumbbells66

dumbbells66 Lead commenter

Anywhere outside the Euro. Check out CEESA.org. this is a great schools association, with some fantastic schools on their list.

Best of luck

yasf and T0nyGT like this.
  3. T0nyGT

T0nyGT Lead commenter

He's right. Europe may seem "close to home" but it's also 'quite' to 'very' poorly paid. What's an extra few hours on a flight for a few extra thousand a month?

4. lthughes

lthughes New commenter

Thanks, I'll certainly check it out!

5. lthughes

lthughes New commenter