1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Heartless STA

Discussion in 'Primary' started by tm73, Apr 17, 2012.

1. Hello,
    I'm looking for help/advice and to also rant a little. I'm a Yr 6 teacher at a very small school over the easter holidays a pupil of mine was seriously injured and is in a neck brace. They are on liquid diet and are due to have more operations in the coming weeks. Obviously this means that they are unable to sit their SATs tests in 4 weeks. I've been speaking to and emailing the ncatools people, the LEA and the STA and they have all said the same thing.
    "he will have to be marked as absent for the test"
    Apparently there is no special dispensation for children who cannot physically sit the tests. I can obviously submit my teacher assessment but it still goes down as an "N" in the school results. Where we are such a small school (19 in year 6) every pupil counts for just over 5% so now I'm looking at 5% less for my eoy data, which will obviously have a negative effect on the schools league table place.

Is there anyway around this?
    hellllpppppppp!!!!!!!!

2. minnieminx

minnieminx New commenter

Can they not have a a Scribe and sit the test at home or the hospital? That would be the only way round it. However, this does seem morally wrong.

He isn't doing the test and so he is absent. There is nothing you can do about it really.

Horrible for him...and horrible that teachers do actually feel this way in such situations. (Not criticising you, I'd be the same.)

3. CarrieV

CarrieV Lead commenter

Sorry, but you have a seriously injured child in a neck brace and you are worried about the effect on league tables!
    Wow!