1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Health and Social Care AS...any help for new teacher?

Discussion in 'Social sciences' started by lizziegrace, Aug 27, 2012.

1. lizziegrace

lizziegrace New commenter

Hi!
    I am taking on a small portion of HSC in Sept (Unit 3 CW for Y12) and would appreciate any help in how lessons would be expected to be structured etc... I am an Art Teacher so a textbook type subject is fairly alien to me - staff change all round means little info available. Is the CW completed mostly at home or at school? Are lessons mainly book or discussion based? Should students take notes for revision or is this unit just for internally assessed coursework? A level Art is a fairly "hands off" approach so I am conscious that I don't want to wade in heavy handed, nor do I want to be too free with expecting them to be self directed!!
    Thanks for any pointers.
    Lizzie

2. lizziegrace

Hi!
    I am taking on a small portion of HSC in Sept (Unit 3 CW for Y12) and would appreciate any help in how lessons would be expected to be structured etc... I am an Art Teacher so a textbook type subject is fairly alien to me - staff change all round means little info available. Is the CW completed mostly at home or at school? Are lessons mainly book or discussion based? Should students take notes for revision or is this unit just for internally assessed coursework? A level Art is a fairly "hands off" approach so I am conscious that I don't want to wade in heavy handed, nor do I want to be too free with expecting them to be self directed!!
    Thanks for any pointers.
    Lizzie

3. blt

blt New commenter

Which exam board is it?

4. lizziegrace