1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Headteacher?

Discussion in 'Headteachers' started by mms1, Dec 30, 2018.

1. mms1

mms1 Occasional commenter

Hi all,

I am now in my second year as a Headteacher having climbed the ladder relatively speedily since qualifying in 2006. I rather hoped by now I would feel a little more 'on top' of things but find the list of things to do getting longer by the day and precious little progress in terms of my confidence.

I find so much of my time being consumed by parents, staffing issues and the unexpected means I make really slow progress against whole school development.

Is this about right for 2 yrs in?

Thanks folks and happy New Year!

2. lindenlea

lindenlea Star commenter

This is going to sound really Pollyannaish but I was told it on a management course and never forgot it.
    Every time someone comes to you with an "issue" that's an opportunity to show your leadership and make an effective input into the development of the school. Using these opportunities is far more likely to have a real impact on the school than imposing some plan that you might embody your priorities but not the priorities of the people you rely on to actually put things in to practice. It's a chance to walk the walk.
    Shoot me down if you want to - I retired 9 years ago and only made deputy.:)

3. Sundaytrekker

Sundaytrekker Star commenter