1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Headteacher giving me a bad reference

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by Pickers80, Oct 17, 2018.

1. Pickers80

Pickers80 New commenter

Hi,

I am a qualified teacher, but when I started a family I went into a Teaching Assistant role, which was less pressure. Then I did some private tuition (11+ entrance). However, when I tried to join an agency I found out that the Headteacher was giving me a bad reference. They would not tell me what was written, but did not accept me onto the agency. Now that I'm planning to get a 'proper' job again, I'm worried that they will contact her (as it was my last job) and she will ruin my chances of working in education again.

I am being totally honest when I say that I was an excellent worker and there was nothing that I did in my role that would lead her to give me a bad reference. The issue is that I fell out with her over a PERSONAL issue.