1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Headteacher appraisal

Discussion in 'Welcome lounge and forum help' started by zondacat, Oct 4, 2019.

1. zondacat

zondacat New commenter

Having sat through the most horrendous performance review where the external advisor and govs managed to squeeze about 20 objectives into 3 "targets". I am wondering this...

Is it reasonable for the headteacher's performance review meeting to take nearly 4 hours? Is there any recommendation on this?

2. Rott Weiler

Rott Weiler Star commenter Forum guide

I've had a lot of experience of this from the other side of the table, as a Chair of Governors, and on the face of it that sounds like a remarkably inept bunch of governors and I'm surprised the EA wasn't more assertive. 4 hours! Unless there was a lot of arguing going on I can't imagine how it took so long. I don't think I've ever known it take more than an hour. But there are no rules or guidance saying how long it should take.

The National Governance Association produces guidance on best practice for governors/academy trustees, attached.

The DfE also produces guidance, in the form of a model policy, but frankly it says little of value for your situation

https://assets.publishing.service.g...her_appraisal_and_capability-model_policy.pdf