1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Headship interview

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by kelwat, Jan 16, 2016.

1. kelwat

kelwat New commenter

Hi, I've been shortlisted for my first headship interview next week. I'm an internal candidate and other than what I can find on Google, I have limited knowledge of the various tasks and interview questions they are likely to give me. I would be grateful for any help/advice, particularly from others who have also been internal.

Thanks

2. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

Well done!

Very well done indeed.

The main advice to internal candidates is simple: pretend that you are external.

So when you are with the other candidates, and all through the day, do NOT act as though this is your school.

And when in the interview, do NOT think I don't need to tell them that - they know all about me, they know what i do. oh YES you DO need to tell them, as though you were in a different school and they didn't know you. Underselling yourself is a common issue for internal candidates.

As for interview advice, here's your weekend homework! These are the interview advice articles from the Professional Advice Hub. I've included some which are not relevant to you, for the benefit of other readers of this post.

3. Preparing for Interview
    I suggest that you read these in this order

Help, I've got an interview!*** The basic advice ***

Teaching an observed lesson at interview

Using mind-mapping for interviews*** The best-loved advice ***

Tell us about yourself - dream or nightmare question?*** Read and note this ***

Daft Interview Questions

What shall I wear to the interview?

Interviews – making a positive first impression