1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Head refuses to accept resignation

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by bellingerc, Apr 6, 2019.

1. bellingerc

bellingerc New commenter

hi there, can I please ask for some shared experiences? I have been a teacher for many years and have seen the profession change immeasurably. I regret encouraging my daughter to enter the profession especially because of the toll it is currently having on her mental and physical health.

My daughter has been working at a stand alone primary academy since September. At the beginning of March she was offered her dream job outside teaching and asked the headteacher if she could be released from her contract at the end of the Easter term.

She acknowledges she missed the deadline by a few days but was pleading for the head’s discretion. The head said she would consider her request.a week later she emailed to say she was still considering the request.

A further week later, (two weeks after my daughter writing to the head) the head said (via e mail) she HAD considered it and was refusing to let her go until the end of August. My daughter requested a copy of her contract, knowing that there is NO signed contract and therefore nothing in writing about the academy’s resignation policy, probation time etc etc. No copy of contractual terms was offered despite repeated requests.

Can you be held to a contracted agreement having not signed a contract?