1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Head of Year interview

Discussion in 'Secondary' started by mbarraclough, Nov 19, 2015.

1. mbarraclough

mbarraclough New commenter

On Monday I have a Head of Year interview on a maternity cover basis. I started working at the school only this September, however I have been teaching elsewhere for 6 years prior to this and I have middle management experience from being a HoD on a maternity basis.

I feel that I am fine with the general questions, but what I am struggling with is the 10 minute presentation that I am also expected to provide:

"The interview will involve you doing a 10 minute presentation on:

Middle Leadership and Management:
    What I would ‘lead’ as Head of Year
    What I would ‘manage’ as Head of Year

Please plan your presentation and be aware that after 10 minutes you will be asked to stop.
    The presentation should be in the form of a PowerPoint."

I am struggling to think of ideas to differentiate the two successfully at this moment in time without being quite vague and talking about the usual things. Does anyone have any ideas or individual interpretations as to how they might approach such a task?

Thanks!

2. Weald56

Weald56 Established commenter

Just a thought (off the top of my head):

What I would ‘lead’ as Head of Year - medium & long term projects, PSHE programme of study, year assemblies etc.

What I would ‘manage’ as Head of Year - the year 'team'; day to day issues such as supporting behaviour policy, absences, contacting parents etc.; the Year Group's contribution to whole school events (such as Prize Givings); data collection for your Year.

I'm sure that this isn't comprehensive, but hope it helps...