1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Head of Sixth Form

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by nbelshaw, Nov 1, 2018.

1. nbelshaw

nbelshaw New commenter

Hi all. First post on here looking for a bit of advice...

I've been a PE teacher for 10 years, leading the sport course in the 6th form for the past 6 years. I'm looking at progressing my career but being a Head of PE doesn't really appeal to me at the moment, I would love to become an assistant/head of 6th form.

However most jobs I see require middle leadership experience, so its a bit of a catch 22. I have two whole school responsibilities, and contribute a lot to the wider school.

Is there anything I should be looking to do that would enhance my position to apply for a head of 6th form position? I am considering applying for the NPQML buy I already have a masters degree.

Thanks in advance

2. CWadd

CWadd Star commenter

Hello!

You have got leadership experience in that you have whole school responsibilities, so think about how your responsibilities would make you a credible Head of Sixth. You've led a Sport course, so you know about the demands of Sixth Form teaching, but a key area for Heads of KS5 is pastoral. You'll be supporting teenagers through a very vulnerable stage of their lives - pressures of sex, relationships, drugs. Not to mention university applications and jobs. Your best bet might be to apply for a HoY post, as most schools now seem to have an overall Head of Sixth Form, then Heads of Year for Y12 and Y13. This provides a way to gain experience and also strengthen your leadership skills. Good luck with what you decide.

3. saints_coach

saints_coach New commenter