1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Head of School Role v Head Teacher Role

Discussion in 'Headteachers' started by jfy30, Feb 29, 2016.

1. jfy30

jfy30 New commenter

Could anyone help me with my decision making regarding the role of Head Teacher as opposed to Head of School? I am an experienced teacher and have been a Deputy HT for five years in a one form entry primary school. I have decided that I need a new challenge and would like to move on to a more senior role. I intended to look for headships but have seen a Head of School position advertised in a large school which is part of a multi academy trust. There is an Executive Head Teacher who is also in charge of another two primary schools. I am not familiar with multi academy trusts so would appreciate any advice from anyone out there who is! I can see advantages and disadvantages of the Head of School role as opposed to a Head Teacher role. I am tempted to apply for the Head of School role as it would provide me with some new experience in a setting which is different to my current one (the salary is also a lot higher than many of the Head Teacher posts currently advertised in my local area). Any advice would be appreciated as I really don't know whether to apply for this role or to purely apply for Head Teacher positions. Any advice would be appreciated :)

2. Middlemarch

Middlemarch Star commenter

I think you already know of the disadvantages - you're not actually the boss, but are accountable for the learning outcomes/attainment of the pupils in your 'school'.

Advantages? I can't think of any.

fahm, Northhead and Rott Weiler like this.
  3. jfy30

jfy30 New commenter