1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Head of History interview

Discussion in 'Heads of department' started by johnnyross05, Apr 22, 2017.

1. johnnyross05

johnnyross05 New commenter

I have been a classroom teacher for 12 years and feel like it is time to make the step up to middle management. I feel like I am ready to lead a department. My only problem is when I have went for Head of department positions in the past although I consistently have been told I do well in the interview and teach the best lesson, the other tasks they like to throw in have let me down. One of these is the data analysis aspect and the group tasks. Any advice on how to tackle these would be greatly recieved. I have an impending interview which itenary has once agin put in two "tasks" as well as an interview and the standard 35 minute lesson. I have planned my lesson and am preparing for the interview but worried about the "tasks" and would not like to fall at these hurdles again.

Kind regards

2. lizziescat

lizziescat Star commenter

Sadly I'm too out of touch to offer advice for the interview but good luck with it.
    If you are not successful this time, I would suggest asking for training on and/or involvement with data analysis in your present school, perhaps assisting your HoD with analysis of departmental and school data.

wanet likes this.
  3. Trendy Art

Trendy Art Star commenter

The key thing with data is to identify groups of students that are underachieving and what you will do as HOD to close attainment gaps.