1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Head of Dept. application letter

Discussion in 'Professional development' started by gomma, Mar 5, 2005.

1. Hi..wonder if I could have some advice.
    I am in my third year of teaching and have been acting head of dept. since sept. when my HOD went on maternity leave. I am applying for a HOD job elsewhere, any advice on the kind of things to put into an application letter for a head of Dept. job? Also a bit concerned about my experince after only 3 years in the job...any advice would be appreciated.
    Thanks

2. Hi..wonder if I could have some advice.
    I am in my third year of teaching and have been acting head of dept. since sept. when my HOD went on maternity leave. I am applying for a HOD job elsewhere, any advice on the kind of things to put into an application letter for a head of Dept. job? Also a bit concerned about my experince after only 3 years in the job...any advice would be appreciated.
    Thanks

3. You need to underline what things you can do that your HoD does normally and if you have done any of them before, then give examples. Also identify areas to be developed and how you could contribute to that development with your knowledge/skills.
    I can email you my standard application letter if you want to, just let me have your email and I will send it to you.
    Good luck!

4. please could I be cheaky and look at it too?
    silverback1@bushinternet.com

i was an nqt last year and i've got the opportunity to apply for a hod at another school. i'd like to take y chances as i know i've got what it takes to lead a dept but 'm afraid of the consequences (bitching etc)of facing my current school if i'm unsucessful. what do you think?