1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Head of Department Dubai

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by Kurly, Feb 19, 2012.

1. Kurly

Kurly New commenter

Hi have an offer for £2500 accom/health/flights...what do you think? I have 16 years experience. Thanks!

2. ian60

ian60 New commenter

I am HoD in Muscat (not UAE, but comparable), I don't get OMR 2000 (the apporox equivalent of the figure quoted above.)
    And I think I am in a good school.

3. gulfgolf

gulfgolf Established commenter

I also think 20 is too much to expect.15 is not bad. You might do a little better, but don't hold your breath for 20. And in the current market, schools might not be negotiating.

4. Hi Kurly,

Was offered exactly the same package (GBP 2,500 per month plus accommodation/health/flights) at some point three years ago as a simple teacher. But not in Dubai (another ME country, less flashy).

5. Kurly

Kurly New commenter

Gosh it really is a bit of an open market isn't it...oh dear the years of pay scales look over. Guess I need to get into how to promote myself and push a bit!

6. Hi