1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Head of ADT Faculty Interview HELP needed!

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by elliedraws, May 26, 2016.

1. elliedraws

elliedraws New commenter

Hi all. I have been asked to apply to be head of the ADT faculty at my school and the interview is likely to be after half term. I have not yet been asked to submit an application form so have not seen a Job/Person Specification. My line manager gave me as much advice as she could legally give. So I'd be very grateful if anyone has any advice. I'll be heading up Art (including Graphics and Textiles A&D GCSE), Catering and DT, with just a Head of Art under me. I'm an Art teacher.

Thanks!

2. bob79

bob79 Occasional commenter

You would benefit from mind-mapping examples of when you have lead and/or managed projects etc. I'd be reflecting on situations that have aided your ability to communicate and support staff/students whilst also ensuring progress occurs. Anything really that demonstrates you have made the step from teacher to manager - good luck.

3. elliedraws

elliedraws New commenter

Thanks so much for this, I really appreciate it and will take it into account when preparing!

4. dts

dts Occasional commenter

Feedback I've had in the past is that I was too focussed on what I had already done, without giving any sense of what I would do in the job. Doesn't need to be a full action plan, just some sense of your "vision".

grumpydogwoman likes this.
  5. elliedraws

elliedraws New commenter