1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Having to plan

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by sparrow45, Jan 10, 2012.

1. Hi, I am relatively new to supply this time around.I have a days work tomorrow, lower juniors and I have been told by the agency that I need to plan for the day.Most of my pre going off and having a family teaching was in early years.I did do quite a bit of daily supply twice before but I am coming back into it now after a break of over 4 yrs.I did a RTT course to enable me to do this.In all the supply I did before there was always planning in place, even if the teacher was off sick there was something there and I always worked alongside the other teachers in that yr .I just find it strange that I have to plan for the whole day, I have always had in the past a bag of ideas you know games, fillers, extension work etc but I am panicing a little in case I get it wrong.I have been pre-booked so surely you would think that the regular teacher has planned.I have looked on the schools website and under the curriculum section I have looked at what they were meant to have covered last term and I was thinking of extending that.I feel quite confident around maths but the literacy/English bit is worrying me.Any tips? Its a yr 3 class.