1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Having more responsibility

Discussion in 'Primary' started by Tammy_gal, Feb 22, 2011.

1. I'm in my second year in my first job at the moment and I really feel that I am progressing well with my teaching.
    I've been thinking recently about my professional development, and I was hoping that I may be able to gain some extra responsibilty next year.
    I'm not really sure how to go about this. I want to do my research first, but I really do feel ready and feel that I need to do this to progress further. Should I mention this to the head? I don't want to seem pushy, but I would like her to consider me if anything (eg subject co-ordinator jobs) become available. How can I help her to see that I really have considered this? Could I ask to shadow a co-ordinator or just speak to them of my own accord?
    Sorry for all the questions, but things like this make me nervous and I really am one of the least pushy people ever. I just don't want to be overlooked. I am very quiet, but I am always enthusiastic and do whatever is asked of me.
    Thanks in advance

2. I'm in my second year in my first job at the moment and I really feel that I am progressing well with my teaching.
    I've been thinking recently about my professional development, and I was hoping that I may be able to gain some extra responsibilty next year.