1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Having a part time job whilst doing PGCE

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by ctinblue7, Jan 26, 2012.

1. Hi everyone,
    Just wanted to know if it's a wise idea to keep my part time job at Sainsburys whilst doing a PGCE? Does anyone currently have a part time job whilst doing theirs?

2. Forget it - you'll be too busy.

3. I am currently studying a PGCE and working part time. It is very difficult, but I am half way through and coping. Unfortunately I did not receive a bursary for my PGCE so I wasn't left with much choice. If you workplace is really flexible that will make it easier as some evenings will be way more busier than others.

Hope this helps :)

4. thequillguy

thequillguy New commenter

Not a chance, really. The more focus you can give to the course, the easier it will be.

5. happydavid

happydavid New commenter

I kept my part-time job throughout my PGCE. I worked three evenings a week (Friday, Saturday and Sunday), though I did cut Sunday evenings out during my final placement. To be honest, it wasn't for the money, but it was so nice to keep a toe grounded in the real world.

I'd say try it. If you find the workload too much as you get into the course you can always have a rethink and cut down or cut out your part-time job altogether.

6. Impossible.

7. Georgia99

Georgia99 New commenter

A couple of people on my PGCE had supermarket jobs throughout the course and seemed to manage.