1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Have you seen any job increase?

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by rugby_gal06, Jun 14, 2011.

1. I haven't seen any in my area yet. My main worry is most of the jobs that have been advertised up until half term tended to be for NQTs and experienced teachers and now that jobs that are being advertised are aimed at experienced teachers and next to nothing for NQTs.
    Should I start worrying yet?

2. I didn't see an increase last week. This week I'm not allowing myself to look: I've hit a busy point in my RTT and OU courses and just don't have the time for writing applications this week. I'm an experienced teacher so I'm not particularly looking for NQT jobs. As Theo and my tutors at RTT have been saying, though, there is a short window now where teachers in post cannot apply for September jobs as it is too late to resign, so applicants at this time are up against a smaller field of NQTs, returners like me and unemployed teachers.
    I remember when I was an NQT I didn't get my September post until the start of July - the interview was in the first week of the summer holidays! So there is still hope for you!

3. littlemissraw

littlemissraw Occasional commenter

It should be the other way around. The only experienced teachers a school can now get are those who are unemployed as others can't leave their post in time for September. Hopefully the bulk of jobs will be out this Friday x

4. I know, that's what is worrying me! Fingers crossed!

5. Georgia99

Georgia99 New commenter

In my region, not one job has appeared in my subject since half term.