1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Have I used up my funding?

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by MsARobinson, May 28, 2011.

1. Hi guys,
    I completed my undergraduate degree in 2010, but actually started it in 2006. I took a year out for which I still received funding for 2 of those terms.I actually deferred the year in December 2006 and rejoined my course in Sept 2007. (it was for unforseen circumstances).

I am applying for a PGCE in 2012 after working full time for a year but Im afraid that I wont get the 1 year funding as I've used 3 years and 2 terms already.
    I hope this makes sense, can anybody shed any light on this at all?
    Thank you

2. mypseudonym

mypseudonym New commenter

I can't say for certain whether you will or won't qualify for funding. However, here is my situation...
    I started my undergrad degree in 2001.
    • 1st year: My fees were fully paid for me by the LEA and I got maximum loan
    • 2nd year: My fees were fully paid for me by the LEA and I got maximum loan. Throughout the year I faced some issues and towards the end I decided to discount the year altogether.
    • 2nd year (again): I have to go through a whole lot of hoops to have my fees paid in full by the LEA - which they did and I got maximum loan.
    • 3rd year: My fees were fully paid for me by the LEA and I got maximum loan
    • 4th year: My fees were fully paid for me by the LEA and I got maximum loan
    ...so in total I had my fees paid and maximum loan for 5 years even though it was a 4 year course.