1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Have I got the main questions covered for a reception placement visit day?

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by Miss-Smiley, Apr 16, 2012.

1. I am a Primary PGCE student (age range 5-11) and will be doing my next placement in reception! I have done my previous placements in yr 2/3/4! Normally students on my course would not be offered a reception placement but I said I would be interested in doing one! So tomorrow I will be visiting the reception class, where I will be doing my 5 week placement starting from next week and was wondering if I have all the main questions covered that I should be asking tomorrow?

1. Copy of the daily routine/timetable
    2.. How do you teach phonics + what phonic programme do you use?
    3. Are there any SEN children + a copy of IEP
    4. Is any guided reading done and in what format?
    5. Copies of the weekly, mtp plans
    6. What topics have been covered before the holidays and what topics is the focus for this half term?
    7. Does each child have a key person? (Copy of who each child's key worker is).
    8. Any grouping, according to ability?
    9. Any behavior management system?
    10. What will be my role?
    11.How do you observe/how often?
    12.How do you do assessment? I.e profile books?
    13.How often do you do the points scale?
    14. Log in for photo copier/computer
    15. Permission to take pictures for evidence for QTS standards etc.

I am nervous but looking forward to the EYFS experience :)! Hopefully this placement goes well!

2. How are support staff deployed?