1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Have I got any chance?

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by Emma5234, Dec 15, 2011.

1. I graduated with a teaching degree 7 years ago now, and for various reasons I never started a teaching job. Instead, I have been doing a job that has included me doing workshops and assemblies in schools (all Key Stages and in SEN settings), and preparing lessons and schemes of work related to sustainable education. I am desperate to get 'back' to teaching. Having put in over 20 applications for jobs for last September, I recently took two weeks off work to volunteer in a primary school (I want to teach KS2).
    My question is- have I left it too late to teach? Am I not being shortlisted because headteachers are worried about the amount of time I have spent out of the classroom?
    Any thoughts/advice would be much appreciated :)

2. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter

Time out of the classroom could be seen as a disadvantage, so make sure you're making the most of all that voluntary work, assemblies etc.
    However that shouldn't pose that much of a problem normally, except that there are literally hundreds of unemployed Primary teachers trying for all those posts, some of whom will have more 'current training'.
    Have a look at Theo's thread Dear Theo- work history too bitty and too much supply- help!
    Somebody recently got a job on their 19th interview, after many applications. So the only answer is to keep trying, anything within education. 20 applications, really isn't that many. I, like many others are applying fot TA / HLTA/ CS whatever (despite many years of teaching experience) just to 'keep our hand in'.
    Best of luck!