1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Have an appointment for hysterectomy

Discussion in 'Health and wellbeing' started by ah40, Jul 1, 2009.

1. I have no personal experience of this but 2 colleagues had one recently.When they were declared fit to return to work by their GP they came back on a phased return.they did a few mornings a week until they felt they could manage more and then gradually increased their hours.I have returned to work recently after 6 months of ill health and had to see Occupational Health to discuss my return and all has gone well.My advice would be to take as long as you require to recover from this op and then ask your GP what they would recommend with regards to your return.I hope everything goes well and you make a speedy recovery.

2. Middlemarch

Middlemarch Star commenter

It also very much depends on the type of hysterectomy you have. An abdominal one (especially if it's a 'total') will take far longer to recover from than a vaginal one.
    A close friend who had a total abdominal hysterectomy (long, vertical incision, ovaries removed as well as womb) was off for six months. Others who have the simpler, less radical procedures can be absent for considerably less time.

3. flossy-fluffy

flossy-fluffy New commenter

I had total abdominal hysterectomy at the end of May last year. I returned to work full time in September for the start of the new school year. I was still sore at times but could manage OK. I took it easy with regard to physical activity such as setting out PE stuff though. There is no way you will be going back in September if you are having TAH. You'll know when you are ready.

4. Thanks for your reply - I will see how it goes!!