1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Has anybody made a full time career out of private tuition?

Discussion in 'Private tutors' started by geek84, Feb 3, 2014.

1. geek84

geek84 New commenter

Good Morning Folks

Has anybody made a full time career out of private tuition? If so, how did you manage to do it? Do you get enough income to cover household expenses and have a bit left over to spend?

What about saving for a pension? How do you go about doing that as a private tutor?

Thanks

2. Georginalouise

Georginalouise New commenter

I'm a full time private tutor. I was previously made redundant, so did have money behind me for the first couple of very lean years. I now have more disposable income than previously, but largely because I no longer have to pay any childcare, which was £1400 per month prior to redundancy. I have a private pension that I pay in to regularly.

3. GordonNome

GordonNome New commenter

Define "full-time career"!

I tutor daytimes, some evenings and one weekend day. I currently have 20 hours contact time per week, so with planning and marking I do 28-35 hours per week. It is my sole job.

Does it pay as much as my previous job? No.

Would it pay the mortgage/bills if I had to do it all on my salary alone? No.

Is it more flexible around family commitments and crises? Yes.

Do I enjoy it more than my last job? Yes.

I am fortunate in that I am not the only working adult in the house. Childcare arrangements fall to me as does sickbed duty and all that goes with young children. That's fair and reasonable as I am not the main wage earner.