1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Hard week...

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by parachute89, May 1, 2019.

1. parachute89

parachute89 New commenter

I know we all have those days where things just aren't going quite right, but I've really felt this every day this week and could do with some advice/support.

I am in my 4th year of teaching Reception and started at a new school in January. The children had not been taught much at all when I started, and I soon put a routine in place whereby children had access to a good range of continuous provision and adult led activities to further their learning.

I'm not sure why but this week I have felt as though some of the children are bored. Many of them do not challenge themselves (despite incentive) and will end up choosing to do the same things every day.

I am worried that I have had such pressure on pushing for writing/reading/maths as they were so far behind, that I may be deterring them from wanting to do these kinds of things during their child initiated play. I am changing my provision at least 2-3 times a week but still find some children end up doing the same old things.

I don't know if it's just this week or if I'm being overly sensitive, but I'm really feeling it this week! How do you ensure children are challenging themselves in your setting? I could also just do with some general advice/support/guidance about how you timetable your settings.

Thank you.

2. caterpillartobutterfly

caterpillartobutterfly Star commenter