1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Hard to cope as an NQT with a familiy

Discussion in 'New teachers' started by mrs penfold, Jan 20, 2011.

1. I am an NQT in a fairly tough school and I am finding it extremely hard to cope and feel very ready to quit. I was a mature student and have four children. Although I am reasonably well supported in my school, I feel that I am constantly getting it wrong. Despite passing my first assessment period as satisfactory, my stress levels are throught the roof and I am crying at the drop of a hat. I am regularly told that the children are very different now fthan they were at the beginning of term and that I must remember they came in a lower than expected levels. This isn't helping! I regularly work until gone midnight to try and meet the needs of my children but when I have got children who are working at a level 1A already and children who can't even write their own name, being told I have to use the whole school planning but maintain a continous provision I am really confused and don't know which way to turn. I am tying my self in knots trying to please everyone at once and I am absolutley terrified of failing. I have been activitly looking a new job and can't find anything that I feel confident in applying for, and I have also considered giving teaching up altogether. I just don't know what to do!! I certainly don't feel that it is worth all of this stress!!!

Mrs Penfold.