1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Harassment

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by rotyat, Jan 25, 2012.

1. I am a fairly new teacher (4 years) in a wonderful school. I have and always have had an excellent reputation for my relationship with the kids. However, 2 girls out of my year 10 group have complained that a) they aren't learning anything and b) I talk too much about my private life. The one girl is targeted a C and the other a D. The one with a D should get a C but I doubt the girl who is targeted a C will get hers. Their progress is on a par with the rest of the group who are all where they should be at this point. My eldest son nearly died at Xmas and I told my excellent class all about it. This sparked off the second complaint about my private life. They have complained off and on since September about not learning anything, and used things I have said out of context to complain. I told my head that I didn't want them in my group any more because they made me nervous. This resulted in them being moved up to a higher group. Today I discovered that my class know what has been going on and they were very sympathetic and I ended up in tears as did a couple of the girls. This resulted in a child I have never even met threatening to punch one of the girls who had been complaining. The kids asked me if what they had heard was true and I said yes it was and added that they did not like me talking about my son. This was clearly a bad move as I have been told that I risk being considered unprofessional. I feel like I am on a roller coaster that I can't get off. I am tearful at school because I cannot believe that the parents of these children care so little about what exactly