1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Hands up?

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by lucylollipop, Jan 15, 2012.

1. lucylollipop

lucylollipop New commenter

Hi. I'm new to early years, in a nursery setting, and am enjoying it immensely so far. However, when I take a whole group session for storytelling or to introduce an activity, I ask questions and get 30 children shouting answers at me. I felt a bit odd asking 3yr olds to put hands up and so have gone on to asking/naming individual children.
    Can anyone suggest any good strategies instead of hands up or is this acceptable in eyfs?

2. lucylollipop

Hi. I'm new to early years, in a nursery setting, and am enjoying it immensely so far. However, when I take a whole group session for storytelling or to introduce an activity, I ask questions and get 30 children shouting answers at me. I felt a bit odd asking 3yr olds to put hands up and so have gone on to asking/naming individual children.
    Can anyone suggest any good strategies instead of hands up or is this acceptable in eyfs?

3. Hands up is totally acceptable :)

Most of mine have forgotten since christmas and I have to start Every, and yes I mean every sentence with "Pu your hand up if..."
    But it does work and consistency is key :)