1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

'Hands up' in FE?

Discussion in 'Further Education' started by ukulelemike, Mar 2, 2011.

1. Hi

I'm a secondary trained FE teacher who has been given a seriously noisy FE class and isn't sure what to do!

Although a fab class generally, there are four 18/19 yr old blokes who get very 'carried away' in group discussion and frequently talk loudly over each other, me and other students. They're not being at all horrible so I've been rebuking them quite mildly, but I do feel I now need to control things as my classroom is beginning to feel like a lunatic asylum.

Is it acceptable to ask for 'hands up' in FE or is that a bit high school?

Any advice on this would be amazing.

2. Hi

I'm a secondary trained FE teacher who has been given a seriously noisy FE class and isn't sure what to do!

Although a fab class generally, there are four 18/19 yr old blokes who get very 'carried away' in group discussion and frequently talk loudly over each other, me and other students. They're not being at all horrible so I've been rebuking them quite mildly, but I do feel I now need to control things as my classroom is beginning to feel like a lunatic asylum.

Is it acceptable to ask for 'hands up' in FE or is that a bit high school?

Any advice on this would be amazing.

3. I simply ignore any individual who doesn't afford me the basic courtesy of letting me know they would like to speak. Really doesn't take them long to get the message.

4. cariadwch

cariadwch Established commenter