1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Half term can't be over already!

Discussion in 'New teachers' started by anon1369, Feb 18, 2012.

1. I cannot believe it's back to school on monday, the week has flew by!
    I have got loads of work to do as I haven't done anything because I have been on a (well deserved!) break away. Come to think of it I am really dreading going back on monday, the feeling normally fades after a couple of days but sadly it never completely goes away.
    I have done a lot of thinking during this half term and I am not sure I want to continue being a teacher, I am pretty sure it is the job I dislike rather than just the school. I really enjoyed my PGCE and thought my NQT year would be even more enjoyable but it's not. I am scrutinised much more than during the PGCE and feel I can't teach in my own way because I am always being told how to do things and get marked down if I don't do specific things.
    I am fed up of ungrateful children who feel they have the right to do what they want and speak to you how they want and even think that they know better than you! What's all that about?
    I'm feeling quite depressed at the prospect of monday coming around. I'm going to stick it out till the summer at least but I am scared that I have to make the 'big' decision by april as my contract is permanant (and I know how lucky I am - it took me over a year to get a job).
    It's a tough decision, do I continue working in a job I hate, commuting 40 miles each way and spending soooo much money on petrol OR do I hand in my notice with the prospect of facing another long period of time unemployed but not having to drag myself out of bed every morning to go to a job I hate?