1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Half day rate

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by Bethbee100, Feb 11, 2020.

1. Bethbee100

Bethbee100 New commenter

My agency seem to keep reducing my rate. For the last few years I’ve been paid £45 for half a day. The agency now say they can only offer £40. They take approx £4 of this as holiday pay.

As a primary teacher I’m in school for about 3 1/2 hours when it’s half a day. Added to this the half hour drive to get there and back.

I’m an experienced teacher and feel I should be offered more than this. 10 years ago I was being paid £70 for half a days work. How have agencies got away with paying so much less than they did 10 years ago?

What are other experienced teachers being paid for half day bookings?

2. 50sman

50sman Lead commenter

RULE of supply for agencies

charge schools as MUCH as you can
    Pay supply as LITTLE as you can

The agencies get away with it because they can always find someone to do the gig.

pepper5, agathamorse and JohnJCazorla like this.
  3. JohnJCazorla

JohnJCazorla Star commenter

I managed to swing £120 for a half-day teaching science at a pretty average comp in October. Presumably the agency had rung all the cheapies by the time it got round to me.

tonymars likes this.
  4. steviepal

steviepal Occasional commenter

I'd be telling them to stuff it where the sun don't shine and I'm elsewhere.
    75 to 80 a.m.
    55 to 65 p.m.
    Minimum.

agathamorse likes this.
  5. BertieBassett2

BertieBassett2 Star commenter

I won't do half days - with regard to petrol use, they don't make sense financially. Also I find them quite disruptive and would rather not work if I can't do a full day.

6. tonymars