1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Guided Writing - Year 2 advice needed

Discussion in 'Primary' started by scorpio12, Apr 5, 2012.

1. scorpio12

scorpio12 New commenter

Hello,

I am an inexperienced Year 2 teacher looking for some advice regarding Guided Writing. Please be kind as feel a bit embarrassed writing this in case really obvious!! :)

When working with a group on a specific objective do you tend to keep them 'as a group' asking pupils to verbalise their sentence - giving feedback to extend them, them giving them time to write it down before gathering back as a group to discuss the next part etc so it is a 'group effort'.

Or do you do an initial input as a group then let them get on with their independent writing - talking to individual pupils at a time about specific things they need to work on.

Or do you do something else! I know depending on objective/ability level the structure would vary but just looking for any ideas or feedback. Thanks :)

2. scorpio12

scorpio12 New commenter

Hello,

I am an inexperienced Year 2 teacher looking for some advice regarding Guided Writing. Please be kind as feel a bit embarrassed writing this in case really obvious!! :)

When working with a group on a specific objective do you tend to keep them 'as a group' asking pupils to verbalise their sentence - giving feedback to extend them, them giving them time to write it down before gathering back as a group to discuss the next part etc so it is a 'group effort'.

Or do you do an initial input as a group then let them get on with their independent writing - talking to individual pupils at a time about specific things they need to work on.