1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Guided reading or individual reading in reception

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by nicholaj69, Jul 8, 2011.

1. Hi all,
    Again as im new to reception it would be great to hear about what other people do for reading.
    In my school the current reception teacher hears individual readers therefore they change their book on a regualar basis. Everytime i go into the room thats all the teacher seems to be doing. She doesnt seem to observe or have teacher led groups. I think individual reading would be a waste of my time. She is only listening to them read not really teaching them reading skills.
    I would prefer to hear guided reading groups but was wondering if this was the norm in reception class? Also how oftren do children change their home reading books and when do you begin to send home books?? I have so many questions on this matter and even in my current year3/4 class have found it a difficult area.
    Any advise will be more than welcome [​IMG]

2. Katille

Katille New commenter